Football playoff matchups announced

Article Image Alt Text

The Aurora Huskies and Osceola/High Plains Stormdogs have qualified for the Class C1 and D1 playoffs set to begin next week. 

Aurora (6-3) earned the No. 9 seed and will travel to No. 8 Ogallala (7-2) Friday. Ogallala features wins over Holdrege, Valentine, Broken Bow, Mitchell, Chadron, Sidney and Chase County with its losses coming to Kearney Catholic and Gothenburg. 

Osceola/High Plains (6-2) earned the No. 4 seed in the top half of the bracket and will host No. 13 Elkhorn Valley (4-4) Thursday. The two teams played back on Sept. 20 with the Stormdogs winning 55-46. Elkhorn Valley features wins over Elgin/Pope John, Niobrara/Verdigre, Madison and Neilgh/Oakdale and losses to OHP, Lutheran High Northeast, Howells-Dodge and Laurel-Concord-Coleridge. 

Kickoff times have yet to be determined. 

For live updates from the sidelines follow us on Twitter @SportsANR and see next week's News-Register for full coverage. 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet