Huskies take Class C title

Article Image Alt Text

The moments before the announcement were agonizing. Phones were refreshed to no avail. Then, celebration chaos ensued. 

The Aurora boys cross country team won the Class C championship Friday at Kearney Country Club, doing so for the second time in school history and the first time since 1999. 

Dylan Riley and Kane Fiala each medaled for Aurora, Riley with a fifth place finish and a time of 17:00.7 while Fiala was seventh and had a time of 17:02.9. Other Aurora finishers included Max Wiarda in 20th at 17:37.8; Eli Warnke in 30th at 17:52.9; Isaac Bisbee in 46th at 18:09.2 and Grady McDonald in 87th at 19:28.5. 

The Huskies finished with 43 team points, edging out Malcom with 51 and Sidney with 60. Back in 1999, Aurora won the Class B title with 37 points. 

As for the girls, the Lady Huskies finished fifth as a team as Kyla Carlson was 35th, Hannah Donnell 42nd, Julia Smith 48th, Elena Kuehner 53rd, Kaitlyn Oswald 64th and Taylor Pickinpaugh 82nd.  

For live updates from the sidelines follow us on Twitter @SportsANR and see next week's News-Register for full coverage. 

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)